|Texas CHL Eligibility Requirements:|
|0. You do not need to own or purchase a handgun to complete this class, we offer free gun rental with purchase of ammo during class.|
1. You must be
a legal resident of Texas for the six month period preceding the date of
application, or be otherwise eligible under §
2. You must be at least
21 years of age.
Exception: Military Personnel:
Base Commanders written permission.
Note: You take may this course up to six months proceeding 21st birthday
|3. You must not have been convicted of a felony. A felony conviction makes an individual ineligible for a concealed handgun license. A person with deferred adjudication probation for a felony offense under Title 5 offense or a Chapter 29 Penal Code offense is still not eligible.|
Convicted means an adjudication of guilt or, except as provided in Section 411.1711, an order of deferred adjudication entered against a person by a court of competent jurisdiction whether or not the imposition of the sentence is subsequently probated and the person is discharged from community supervision. The term does not include an adjudication of guilt or an order of deferred adjudication that has been subsequently:
(B) pardoned under the authority of a state or federal official; or
(C) otherwise vacated, set aside, annulled, invalidated, voided,
or sealed under any state or federal law (effective Sept 1,
§ 411.1711 CERTAIN EXEMPTIONS FROM CONVICTIONS. A person is not convicted, as that term is defined by § 411.171, if an order of deferred adjudication was entered against the person on a date not less than 10 years preceding the date of the person's application for a license under this subchapter unless the order of deferred adjudication was entered against the person for an offense under Title 5, Penal Code, or Chapter 29, Penal Code Section 25.07, Penal Code or Section 30.02(c)(2) or (d) Penal Code. (See attached list)
4. You must
not be currently charged with the commission of a
felony, a Class A or B misdemeanor, or equivalent
offense, or an offense under Section 42.01 of the Penal
Code (Disorderly Conduct) or equivalent offense.
5. You must not be a
fugitive from justice for a felony or a Class A or B
misdemeanor, or equivalent offense.
6. You must not be a
chemically dependent person.
A person with two convictions
within the ten year period preceding the date of
application for offenses (Class B or greater) involving
the use of alcohol or a controlled substance is
ineligible as a chemically dependent person.
You must not be incapable of exercising sound judgment
with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun.
If an applicant has a psychiatric disorder or condition
which may make an individual ineligible for a license,
the application will be sent to the Medical Advisory
Board (MAB) to determine whether the applicant is
eligible to receive a license.
You must not have been convicted in the five years
before the date of application
of a Class A or B
misdemeanor, or equivalent offense, or an offense under
Section 42.01 of the Penal Code (Disorderly Conduct) or
The date of conviction (that is, the date the
judge signed an order), not the date of arrest.
You must be fully qualified under federal and state law
to purchase a handgun.
The "Brady" Law includes several eligibility
requirements for purchasing a handgun.
10. You must not have been
finally determined to be delinquent in making a child
support payment administered or collected by the
11. You must not have been
finally determined to be delinquent in the payment of
taxes collected by the comptroller, state treasurer, tax
collector of a political subdivision, Alcoholic Beverage
Commission or any other agency or subdivision.
12. You must not be
currently restricted under a protective order or
restraining order affecting the spousal relationship. If a person's spouse
or ex-spouse has a protective or restraining order
against the person, even an agreed order, then the
applicant must wait until the order expires before
applying for a CHL.
13. You must not have been
adjudicated as having engaged in delinquent conduct
violating a felony-grade law within 10 years of the date
This section applies only to juvenile offenses,
not to felonies committed by adults